University of Birmingham
eLibrary

Digital Library Team

 
Schools and departments

Guide to using the eLibrary

 

The following guide offers in depth advice on the best ways to search for information using eLibrary and how to save/print the information retrieved. A PDF Quick Guide to eLibrary is also available at http://www.library.bham.ac.uk/searching/guides/g31eLibraryQuick.pdf .

Contents

  1. What is the eLibrary?
  2. What’s the connection between the eLibrary and Metalib?
  3. How do I access and log into the eLibrary?
  4. How do I find an ejournal?
  5. Once I have got a list of ejournals what do I do?
  6. How do I search for information on my subject area using the eLibrary?
  7. How can I search for articles across many sources?
  8. What will the search results look like?
  9. How do I access the electronic full text of search results?
  10. I’m getting too many search results, what do I do?
  11. How do I find a resource by its title?
  12. How do I browse for a title?
  13. How do I browse by Subject Category?
  14. How do I save my search results to a disc?
  15. How do I email a search result to myself?
  16. How do I save results within the eLibrary so that I can come back to them next time I log-in?
  17. How do I log-out of the eLibrary?

  18. What do the icons mean?

  19. eLibrary Demonstrations


1. What is the eLibrary?

The eLibrary is a gateway to all of the electronic resources that The University of Birmingham subscribes to. These resources can be the full text of a journal, a searchable database or any web based resource that we have access to.

The eLibrary allows you to search our resources and produce a list of results that you can arrange in a number of different ways.

If available, you will also be able to link directly to the full text version of your search result e.g. a journal article, using the button.


Back to Top ^

2. What’s the connection between the eLibrary and Metalib?

eLibrary is the name The University of Birmingham has given to the Metalib product that it purchased from Ex Libris. If you see the Metalib name used anywhere, such as in email alerts please take this to mean the same thing as the eLibrary.


Back to Top ^

3. How do I access and log into the eLibrary?

You can access the eLibrary from a range of web pages at The University of Birmingham, or go directly to the eLibrary at http://www.elibrary.bham.ac.uk/. You will then need to log into the eLibrary using your Active Directory Account/Portal username and password.

You can also access the eLibrary by going to The University of Birmingham Portal at http://www.my.bham.ac.uk/ Log in to the Portal using your Active Directory Account/Portal username and password. Once you have entered the portal select the Library and Computing tab. Then click on the link for the eLibrary.

If you do not know your username and password please go to one of the Computing Helpdesks (in the Main Library or Leaning Centre) or go to http://www.ehelpdesk.bham.ac.uk/ and log a call.


Back to Top ^

4. How do I find an ejournal?

Select the Find eJournal button at the top of the eLibrary screen. From the Find eJournal section you can browse by the journals titles using the A-Z list of links. For example if you click on the letter “C” you will be taken to a list of the first ten journals that begin with the letter “C”, you can navigate to further journals beginning with this letter by using the Previous and Next links on the right hand side of the screen.

Find eJournal

In this tab you can also use the Title search box to find an ejournal. If you already know the title of the journal you can type it into the search box and select GO. The radio button options after the search box allow you to do searches if you are unsure of the whole title. E.g. Starts with, will find any ejournal that has a title that begins with your search term. Contains will find all of the ejournals that include your search term anywhere in the title. Exact will only find ejournals where its title matches exactly with your search term.

Selecting ISSN in the eJournal tab allows you to search by title, or ISSN or both.

Search eJournal by ISSN


Back to Top ^

5. Once I have got a list of ejournals what do I do?

The list of ejournals will appear in the default List View. To find out more information about the ejournal click on the button, this is on the right hand side of the screen. This will open a new pop-up window which will tell you the range of years that we subscribe to for that ejournal and details of who the provider of that ejournal is.

Every ejournal also has a button next to it. If you click on this button and an arrow is added to the button you have successfully added that ejournal to the My eJournals list in My Favourites. This is an area where you can save ejournals that you will want to look at often to allow you quick and easy access to them in the future.

Once you have a list of ejournals you can access the ejournal you are interested in via three routes :

  1. You can click on the ejournals title and this will either take you through to the service that holds the full-text (which you can then navigate to find the article you are interested in) or it will launch a [Find It! Bham] menu revealing that we have links to one or more services providing this ejournal and the range of issues available from each service. Select which service you wish to use by clicking on the GO button next to it. You will then have a new window open with the ejournal from that service. To get back to the eLibrary simply close the new ejournal window.

  2. You can select the button attached to that ejournals record which will then automatically launch the [Find It! Bham] menu revealing that we have links to one or more services providing this ejournal and the range of issues available from each service. Select which service you wish to use by clicking on the GO button next to it. You will then have a new window open with the ejournal from that service. To get back to the eLibrary simply close the new ejournal window.
  3. Choose a provider from underneath the title and click on it to go straight through to the ejournal.

Selecting Full Text


Back to Top ^

6. How do I search for information on my subject area using the eLibrary?

There are many ways you can search using the eLibrary but the easiest way is to use the QuickSearch facility. You will need to select the QuickSearch button from the top of the screen. From this page you search using QuickSets using either an advanced or a simple search. Advanced search allows you to limit your search choosing from Subject, Resource Name, ISSN, etc while simple search allows you to search using keyword only.

QuickSets contain up to 11 cross-searchable resources that are grouped together to enable more effective searching. You need to click the radio button next to the appropriate QuickSet and enter your search term in either advanced or simple search, then click 'GO'. However, please be aware that this is a simple search function and more detailed searching can be achieved by going directly to your chosen resource and searching its native interface.

QuickSet searching

You can click directly on a QuickSet to see which resources it contains, and then click on the resource title to go directly to the resource itself.

The QuickSets currently contain :

Arts and Humanities
  • British Humanities Index (CSA)
  • eBrary
  • FRANCIS
  • Humanities Abstracts (Wilson)
  • Literature OnLine (LION)
  • UoB Library Catalogue
  • Web of Science (ISI)
Business and Law
  • ASSIA (CSA)
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
  • Criminology : SAGE (CSA)
  • eBrary
  • EconLit (EBSCO)
  • MEDLINE (Ovid)
  • Periodicals Index Online (Proquest)
  • Philosopher's Index (SP)
  • Web of Science (ISI)
  • World Law Index (RLG)
Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • ACM Digital Library
  • Aerospace + High Tech (CSA)
  • Ei Compendex
  • GEOBASE
  • Inspec (Ei Village 2)
  • Intute: Science, Engineering, & Technology
  • IOP Journals Z39 (IOP)
  • Knovel
  • UoB Library Catalogue
  • Web of Science (ISI)
Health and Biomedical Sciences
  • British Nursing Index (BNI)
  • CINAHL (EBSCO)
  • Cochrane Library (Wiley)
  • EMBASE: Excerpta Medica (Ovid)
  • Intute: Health & Life Sciences
  • MEDLINE (Ovid)
  • PsycINFO (Ovid)
  • Toxicology Abstracts (CSA)
  • Web of Science (ISI)
Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Biological Sciences (CSA)
  • CAB Abstracts (Ovid)
  • Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (CSA)
  • GEOBASE
  • Intute
  • Web of Science (ISI)
Social Sciences and Education
  • ASSIA (CSA)
  • Business Source Premier(EBSCO)
  • Criminology: SAGE (CSA)
  • ebrary
  • EconLit (EBSCO)
  • MEDLINE (Ovid)
  • Periodicals Index Online (Proquest)
  • Philosopher's Index (SP)
  • Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
  • Web of Science (ISI)


Back to Top ^

7. How can I search for articles across many sources?

One of many ways to search on eLibrary can be to carry out article searches across a range of sources and subject areas. For fast article discovery searching across numerous sources- try our 'SuperSearch' tool. It harvests metadata from both library subscription and open access platforms, allowing you to carry out a fast search across numerous sources. You may at times see SuperSearch referred to as its original name 'Primo Central' by the vendor Ex Libris.

There are three ways to search SuperSearch:

  1. Using 'SuperSearch' on the GoFindIt applet.
  2. QuickSet 'SuperSearch' on eLibrary. Log in to eLibrary and select QuickSearch. SuperSearch appears as a global QuickSet.
  3. Metasearches on eLibrary. Log into eLibrary, select 'Find Resource' and search for 'Primo Central'.
For a full guide on the SuperSearch tool, please refer to SuperSearch Guide (http://www.library.bham.ac.uk/searching/guides/g33SuperSearch.pdf). Please note this only searches a sub-set of content across all Subject Areas. Alternatively for a subject-specific search, try another QuickSet or individual eResources on eLibrary.


Back to Top ^

8. What will the search results look like?

Whilst the eLibrary is running the search the screen below will appear listing which resources it is performing the search on. ELibrary then sorts the results.

QuickSearch Results

When the eLibrary has completed the search it will show the results in the default List View. You can see the results in Brief View or Full View if you preferred by just clicking on those links. The results are initially sorted in order of relevance with the most relevant results being at the top of the screen. In List View the Rank bar indicates how relevant the result is to your search criteria. If you click on the title of the result in either Table View or Brief View you will be taken to the full record of that title.

You can use the Next and Previous links at the top of the results list to navigate through the results.

You can also reorder the results by Rank, Title, Author, Database or Year by selecting the option you wish to reorder by from the Sort by drop down list at the top right of the results list.

Ranking and Clustering

The first set of results that you will see in Brief View are not all of the results available instead they are simply the best results found within a certain time period. To see all of the results available for the search you will need to click Retrieve More to make MetaLib search again and may retrieve a wider range of results. Results that were retrieved on a second search will be marked with 'new'. Clicking Search & Link will open a new window to any resources which allow you to go straight to their native interfaces.


Back to Top ^

9. How do I access the electronic full text of search results?

In each search result record a button will appear. If you click on this button you will generate a [Find It! Bham] menu screen that will display links to services that hold the full text that The University of Birmingham subscribe to. If we do not hold the item in full text the menu will include a link to search The University of Birmingham’s Library Catalogue to see if we have the item in print format.

Search Results

Clicking on the button in the above example generates this pop-up menu:

FindIt@Bham pop-up box


Back to Top ^

10. I’m getting too many search results, what do I do?

If you are getting thousands of results being returned to you then you may need to revise your search terms or narrow them down to be more specific. You can narrow down a search that you have already run by clicking on the Search button again and using the drop down tab to refine your search using 'and', 'or' or 'without' then clicking 'go'.


Back to Top ^

11. How do I find a resource by its title?

If you already know the title of the resource you want to access then select Find Resource from the top of the eLibrary.

Find Resource by Title

Next enter the name of the resource in the search box and choose either 'starts with', 'contains' or 'exact' e.g. Starts with, will find any resource that has a name that begins with your search term. Contains will find all of the resources that include your search term anywhere in its name. Exact will only find resources where its name matches exactly with your search term. Finally click GO to bring up a list of results.


Back to Top ^

12. How do I browse for a title?

You can select the first letter of the resource you require from the A-Z list and browse until you find what you want. For example if you click on the letter "A" you will be taken to a list of the first ten resources that begin with the letter "A", you can navigate to further resources beginning with this letter by using the Previous and Next links on the right hand side of the screen.


Back to Top ^

13. How do I browse by Subject Category?

The tab Browse by Subject will allow you see which resources are most relevant to your subject area.

Browse by Category

To search by a particular subject area select a category from the list on the left hand box and then a sub-category from the right hand box, then press GO.

A list of resources that are relevant to that subject will then be listed. Once you have a list of relevant resources you can click on the title of the resource to go to its homepage and search the resource from there.

eResources Results

If a resource in the list has a picture of a magnifying glass next to it () this means that you can search that resource from within the eLibrary. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to a search screen. Clicking the next to a resource will save a link to that resource in the 'My Resources' area of 'My Favourites' so you can find it again quickly.

You can also carry out a more advanced search for a resource by using the Find By Type tab. You may find this helpful if you want to find all of a certain type of resource in one subject area. For example you can retrieve a list of all the bibliographic databases by selecting that option from the drop-down menu and clicking GO.

Select type from drop down menu

You will then see a list of all of the bibliographic databases for that subject:

Bibliographic databases

To go directly to a resource you just need to click on its title and a new browser will be launched taking you to the homepage of that resource. You will remain logged into the eLibrary and to get back to it simply close the new window.

To learn more about that resource click on the button. This will open a pop-up window that may hold a description of the resource, hints on searching the resource, links to help guides and other important information.


Back to Top ^

14. How do I save my search results to a disc?

You will need to be in Full View of the search result to be able to save it to a disc. When you have the search result in Full View you will see an icon that looks like a floppy disc ()on the top right hand side of the record display. Then follow the on-screen instructions. You can save the record in the default Standard format. Once you have decided where you want to save the record, you should change the default file name vir01-1 to something more relevant. The default file extension is .exl, but you may want to change this to .doc so that you can save the record as a Word file.


Back to Top ^

15. How do I email a search result to myself?

To send a search result by email you must have the search result in Full View. On the top right hand side of the screen you will see an icon that looks like an envelope (). Click on this icon and fill in the short form that appears in the pop up window. The item will then be sent to your chosen email account. When you receive the email you will notice that it is sent by Metalib which is a corporate name for the eLibrary.

Save/Email Results


Back to Top ^

16. How do I save results within the eLibrary so that I can come back to them next time I log-in?

In the eLibrary everyone that is logged on will see that they have their own personal area called My Favourites. This area allows you to organise your favourite eJournals and databases as well as storing search results. To save a search result in My Favourites you will need to find the icon that looks like a shopping trolly/cart. If you click on this icon an arrow will be added to the image, to show that the selected record has been copied to your eShelf basket (the eShelf is an area within My Favourites.) When you click on the My Favourites option at the top of the screen you will then be able to look in the eShelf to see all of the records you have saved in your basket.


Back to Top ^

17. How do I log-out of the eLibrary?

If you have logged into the eLibrary using your Active Directory/Portal username and password then you must make sure that you log out of the eLibrary when you have finished your session. To logout of the eLibrary, click where it says Logout on the top right hand side of the eLibrary screen. An Exit Confirmation pop-up box will appear, select Exit.

Image showing Logout pop-up box

If instead of logging out you close the eLibrary browser window, your session will expire after a few minutes. You will also be automatically logged out of eLibrary after thirty minutes of inactivity.


Back to Top ^

18. What do the icons mean?

Click for more information.
Users are advised to consult the online information about this title before using it.
Search the indicated database within the eLibrary.
Database is unavailable unless logged in to eLibrary.
Add item (database/eJournal/article) to "My Favourites".
Item has been added to "My Favourites".
Remove this item from "My Favourites".
Save to disk.
Send via email.
View University of Birmingham holdings.


Back to Top ^

eLibrary Demonstrations.

Online demonstrations on using eLibrary are available by clicking on the following links :

These demonstrations require your Browser to have an Adobe Shockwave plug-in installed. Latest versions of Netscape, Internet Explorer and other popular internet browsers already have this installed by default. If you have a problem viewing the demonstrations, information on ShockWave is available at http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi.

While watching these demonstrations, clicking on on the 'END DEMONSTRATION' button at the top of the window will terminate the demonstration and close the window. Also, the following navigation controls will be available at the bottom of the demonstration window :